Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

 Content Editor




(Grand Cayman – 8 March 2015) The 8th Annual Butterfield Young Musician of the Year Awards evening took place on Thursday, 7 May at the Prospect Playhouse.

This year’s Butterfield Young Musician of the Year 2015 Award was presented to Conor O’Dea of St. Ignatius Catholic School who studies under the instruction of Natalie Barbour. Conor won over the judges with his moving performance on the saxophone. Ranking a close second was David Brown from Triple C School with his vocal performance.

Newcomers Dr. Catherine Rand and Mrs. Stephanie Williams, joined long standing judge Mr. John McLaughlin Williams to make up the panel at this year’s event. The competition showcased a variety of very strong musical talent and guests had the opportunity to enjoy great musical performances by all 10 student finalists.

Other featured performances also showcased young rising stars, Nathaniel Williams of Red Bay Primary School who thrilled the audience with an impressive drum solo, as well as a vocal performance from Ashlyn Evans of St. Ignatius Catholic School. Last year’s winner Ethan Whittaker was also in attendance and shared an exciting steel pan performance.

Each of the competitors were awarded a trophy for achieving a place in the 2015 Butterfield Young Musician of the Year competition. The first and second place winners also received their place trophies and a cash award of CI$500 and CI$300, respectfully, courtesy of Butterfield. In addition, winners will also received the opportunity to partake in a unique and educational trip.

Conor and David will travel to the Frost School of Music at the University of Miami, where they will tour the facility, receive a workshop lesson from the University’s instructors and attend the latest production of the “Area Stage Company”. This is a professional theatre company that is geared towards developing up-and-coming musicians and artists from younger generations of local artists in Miami.

“We congratulate all 10 finalists on their hard work,” said Mr. Michael McWatt, Butterfield’s Deputy Managing Director & EVP of Banking. “Seeing such an amazing level of talent in our youth truly inspires us to continue supporting this great award. On behalf of Butterfield, we thank the Department of Education Services and our judges for their dedication and support to our young people. It is our hope that our ongoing support will have a positive influence on the continued development of the performing arts in our Islands.”

Photo caption:
From left: Amy Gillies, Abby Onfroy, Chyna Bennett, Jacie Mascarenhas, Dr. Catherine Rand, Michael McWatt, Conor O’Dea (winner), David Brown (runner-up), Stephanie Williams, John McLaughlin Williams, Duncan Anderson, Deidra Campbell, Nayil Arana and Miriam Foster

Photo credit: Bina Mani, GIS



Visit Our Other Sites